Complete Story

OPA Awards and Leadership Nomination Solicitations

HURRY! October 5, 2010 is the nomination deadline.

Award Nomination Form
Media Award Nomination Form
OPA Election Nomination Form

Hurry! October 05, 2010 is the deadline to nominate candidates for awards and leadership positions in the Ohio Pharmacists Association. Information and criteria for both types of nominations follow below.  (Media Awards may be submitted until February 28, 2011.)

Lead the Charge
Consider a position on OPA's 2011 ballot. Leadership in OPA will afford you the opportunity to contribute to the planning process in moving Ohio pharmacy forward, to develop skills that will benefit you professionally and personally, to meet and exchange ideas with innovators in the profession, and to feel a sense of accomplishment. Exciting things are happening with the practice of pharmacy. Be a part of it!

Vice President. The Vice President is responsible for assuming the duties of the President in the absence of the President and the President-Elect. He/she shall be a voting member of the Executive Committee, Finance Committee and the Board of Trustees. The Vice President is elected for a term of one year. Upon the election of his successor, the Vice President shall assume the office of President-Elect for one year, and then the office of President for a one-year term.
Executive Committee Member-At-Large serves a two-year term. He/she shall assume such duties as assigned by the President and shall be a voting member of the Executive Committee, the Board of Trustees, and the Finance Committee. 
Trustees. Districts 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14 will be electing one trustee each to serve 2011-2013 terms on the Board of Trustees, which meets four times per year. The districts are listed below with their corresponding counties.

District 3: Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Logan, Marion, Mercer, Paulding, Putnam, Shelby, VanWert, Wyandot
District 4: Butler, Clinton, Darke, Preble, Warren
District 6: Clermont, Hamilton
District 7: Adams, Brown, Fayette, Gallia, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Pickaway, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton
District 8: Athens, Belmont, Guernsey, Harrison, Jefferson, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Noble, Washington
District 12: Carroll, Holmes, Stark, Tuscarawas, Wayne
District 13: Cuyahoga
District 14: Ashtabula, Columbiana, Geauga, Lake, Mahoning, Trumbull

Any OPA active member may nominate himself/herself or any other OPA active member. All OPA members will vote for officers, and District Trustees will be elected by members of their individual districts.

Candidate photos and biographical sketches will be included in an upcoming issue of the Ohio Pharmacist journal. Successful candidates will be installed at the 133rd Annual Conference, April 8 - 10, 2011 in Columbus.

Awards Solicitation
OPA will recognize the accomplishments of members throughout the state at the 133rd Annual Conference, April 8-10, 2011, in Columbus. Any OPA member may nominate any eligible member for the awards.

Upsher-Smith Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award
This Upsher-Smith sponsored award recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care, emphasizing the very important role that pharmacy has in providing patient counseling. OPA displays recipients' names in the OPA office.

Pfizer Bowl of Hygeia Award
The Bowl of Hygeia Award is sponsored by Pfizer, Inc. to honor pharmacists who have contributed to the progress of their communities. Criteria include:
1. pharmacist licensed in the State of Ohio;
2. recipient must be living;
3. recipient must not be previous recipient of the award;
4. recipient must not be currently serving, nor has he/she served within the immediate past two years as an officer of the Association in other than an ex officio capacity or its awards committee;
5. recipient must have compiled an outstanding record of community service, which apart from his/her specific identification as a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.

Young Pharmacist of the Year
The goal of the Pharmacists Mutual Young Pharmacist of the Year Award is to encourage newer pharmacists to participate in association and community activities. Criteria include:
1. entry degree in pharmacy received less than nine years ago;
2. licensed to practice in the State of Ohio;
3. member of OPA;
4. participation in national pharmacy associations, professional programs, and/or community service.

OPA Good Government Award
This award recognizes a pharmacist member of the Ohio Pharmacists Association who has made major contributions to the public through government and/or legislative service/education at the local, state or national level. This activity must have raised pharmacists' awareness of legislative issues impacting the profession, and impacting the passage of favorable legislation for pharmacy.

OPA Pharmacist Public Relations Award
This award recognizes a pharmacist member of the Ohio Pharmacists Association who has made major contributions to the public through continuous service to the community in public relations activities for the profession of pharmacy. This may be accomplished through television, radio, newsprint or community presentations on careers in pharmacy, poison prevention, medication safety, etc.

The Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award
The Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award is presented by the Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) to recognize a pharmacist who has demonstrated excellence in community-based prescription drug abuse prevention. The award is intended to recognize outstanding efforts within the pharmacy community to raise awareness of this serious public health problem. It is also intended to encourage educational prevention efforts aimed at patients, youth, and other members of the community.

Award Nomination Form 

OPA Media Awards
Awards are presented to persons in the media promoting medication safety or pharmacy issues to the public.

Media Award Nomination Form

Printer-Friendly Version