Complete Story

OPA Names First Executive Fellow

Vyishali Dharbhamalla, PharmD

Vyishali Dharbhamalla, PharmDVyishali Dharbhamalla, PharmD has been selected as the first OPA Executive Fellow in Leadership and Association Management, beginning July 1, 2019. The one-year fellowship was initiated by the Ohio Pharmacists Foundation in 2018 to provide the in-depth education and training needed to understand every aspect of association management.

The fellowship is structured to help the Fellow develop the essential skills needed to manage an association in all of the following areas:

The fellowship was named in honor of Amy and Don Bennett who have dedicated their professional lives to leadership and the professional development of hundreds of Ohio pharmacists and student pharmacists. Amy is Assistant Executive Director of OPA, where she publishes the journal, plans CPE, and mentors student pharmacists. Don has been involved in leadership roles at local, state and national levels, and has been recognized with their highest awards. He currently serves on the Board of Trustees for the Ohio Pharmacists Foundation.

Vyishali is a 2019 graduate of The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy. As a student, she was the Legislative Director for the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) student chapter, and she established a collaboration with leaders from all student organizations to host advocacy events. She was inducted into Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society in 2017. Vyishali has internship experience with Mount Carmel New Albany Surgical Center and Kroger Pharmacy. She completed APPE rotations at NCPA (August 2018) and OPA (February 2019).

Thanks to all who contributed to the OPA Executive Fellowship. More information on the Fellowship and a donation form can be found on the OPA website under Latest News. Tax-deductible contributions, made payable to the Ohio Pharmacists Foundation, can be made as a one-time donation or as a pledge over time.  

Released July 1, 2019

Printer-Friendly Version