Complete Story

New RSA Leaders: Directors and RSQ Editor

I send this note to make two important announcements:

  • The results of the RSA Board of Directors elections
  • The new editor-elect of Rhetoric Society Quarterly

New Directors 

I am pleased to announce the election of the five people listed below to four-year terms on the RSA Board of Directors that will begin July 1, 2018. I look forward to working with each of them. 

Gwendolyn Pough, Syracuse University 
Lisa A. Flores, University of Colorado, Boulder
Ersula Ore, Arizona State University
Anjali Vats, Boston College 
Karrieann Soto Vega, Syracuse University 

They will replace five current Directors who will complete their terms at the end of June. I am deeply grateful to Vanessa Beasley, Shirley Wilson Logan, Jenny Rice, Dave Tell, and Erica Fischer for their generous service to RSA. Because governance of RSA is Board-centered, elected Directors do extensive and important work advancing the purposes of the Society. 

New Editor of RSQ  

The RSA Board of Directors has appointed Jacqueline Rhodes of Michigan State University as the incoming editor of Rhetoric Society Quarterly. She will succeed Susan Jarratt whose conscientious work as editor has advanced the quality and the visibility of our journal during her term of service. Professor Jarratt’s service as editor will end officially as Professor Rhodes’s four-year term begins on [date], but they will begin working together shortly on this editorial transition. 

Having served as editor of RSQ, I have an intimate understanding of the challenging intellectual and managerial task that Professor Jarratt is completing and that Professor Rhodes is about to begin. I am personally grateful to both of them. 

Other changes 

A reminder:  As you know, Michelle Ballif was designated President-Elect at the last RSA Board meeting in October and will  begin that service on formally July 1.  On that date, Kirt Wilson will begin his two-year term as President, and I will begin mine as Immediate Past President. That date will mark the end of Kendall Phillips’s term as our Immediate Past President – his exemplary service to RSA merits the gratitude of us all. 

Greg Clark, President
Rhetoric Society of America

Printer-Friendly Version