About Ohio Chapter, ACS


The Ohio Chapter functions through the coordinated activity of its individual members, for the support and improvement of the practice of surgery in the state. With the help of an executive director, the Chapter relies completely on the energy and initiative of interested Ohio surgeons. We welcome the participation of any interested individuals.

Ohio Chapter Leadership

View the current Council and Committees on the Leadership page. You can also express your volunteer interest on this page.

Chapter is governed by its Council, that serves as a liaison committee between the Ohio Chapter and the Board of Regents, the Board of Governors and the staff of the American College of Surgeons. The elected members of the Council shall nominate candidates for Governors of the American College of Surgeons as vacancies arise in accordance with the directives of the College.

The Council shall consist of elected and ex-officio members. The elected members of the Council shall be the officers of the Chapter, the two immediate Past Presidents, and eight Councilors, two elected from each of the four districts designated for the state of Ohio. The ex-officio members of the Council shall be the Governors and the state chairman of the Committee on Cancer Liaison of the American College of Surgeons, the Chairperson of the Ohio Trauma Committee, and the Chairpersons of the Chapter Committees.

The counties of the state of Ohio shall be divided into four districts to permit equitable representation of parts of the state on the Executive Council of the Ohio Chapter, American College of Surgeons. The composition shall be determined by the Executive Council and may be amended from time to time to reflect population shifts within the state.


The Ohio Chapter awards the Distringuished Service Award in appreciation for many years of meritorious service to the Chapter for contributions toward the betterment of the practice of surgery in the State of Ohio.

2011                  Michael Stark, MD, FACS
2009                  Margaret Dunn, MD, FACS, Dayton
2008                  Michael Nussbaum, MD, FACS, Cincinnati
2005                  Mark Malangoni, MD, FACS, Cleveland
2004                  D Ross Irons, MD FACS, Bellevue
2003                  G William Parker, MD FACS, Delaware
2002                  Richard Fratianne, MD FACS, Cleveland
2001                  Sidney F Miller, MD FACS, Dayton
2000                  Richard B Reiling, MD FACS, Dayton
1998                  Robert Zollinger, MD FACS, Cleveland
1997                  Lawrence H Linder, MD FACS, Middletown
1996                  Josef E Fischer, MD FACS, Cincinnati 

1995                  Robert K Finley, Jr, MD FACS, Dayton
1994                  Sterling W Obenour, Jr, MD FACS, Zanesville
1993                  Rex K Whiteman, MD FACS, Warren
1989                  Thomas R Kelley, MD FACS, Akron
1988                  Robert E Hermann, MD FACS, Cleveland
1987                  Wesley Furste, MD FACS, Columbus
1986                  Stephen W Ondash, MD FACS, Youngstown
1985                  Robert M Zollinger, Sr, MD FACS, Columbus
1982                  F Miles Flickinger, MD FACS, Lima
1981                  Frank A Shively, MD FACS, Dayton
1979                  Stanley O Hoerr, MD FACS, Cleveland


The Ohio Chapter, ACS Bylaws outline the governance and leadership methods employed by the organization. The current bylaws can be found here

Ohio Chapter History

The History of the Ohio Chapter is a written account comprising the chronological record of events affecting the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. We have a rich surgical heritage of which all of us can be proud. Included are many of the people who formed the Chapter. An eminent surgeon well-known for his volunteer medical work in Kenya, China, and elsewhere and his articles in the Bulletin of the American College of Surgeons, Robert K. Finley, Jr., MD, FACS now brings that same wit and warm writing style to this publication.

Past Presidents

The Ohio Chapter honors all of the leaders who have helped shaped the organization into what it is today.

1962 - Franklin L. Shively, Jr., MD, FACS 1964 - Tom E. Lewis, MD, FACS 1965 - Walter A. Hoyt, Jr., MD, FACS
1970 - C. William Loughry, MD, FACS 1975 - Byers W. Shaw, MD, FACS 1978 - Robert P. Hummel, MD, FACS
1979 - Robert E. Hermann, MD, FACS 1981 - Robert K. Finley, Jr., MD, FACS 1982 - Larry C. Carey, MD, FACS
1983 - Robert M. Zollinger, Jr., MD, FACS 1983-1984 - William V. Sharp, MD, FACS 1984 - Sterling W. Obenour, MD, FACS
1987 - Richard B. Reiling, MD, FACS 1989 - Richard B. Fratianne, MD, FACS 1990 - Lawrence H. Linder, MD, FACS
1991 - Sidney F. Miller, MD, FACS 1992 - Josef E. Fischer, MD, FACS 1995 - Jeffrey L. Ponsky, MD, FACS
1996 - Ezra Steiger, MD, FACS 1997 - Michael A. Flyn, Jr., MD, FACS 1998 - G. WIlliam Parker, MD, FACS
1999 - Mark A. Malangoni, MD, FACS 2000 - Margaret M. Dunn, MD, MBA 2001 - Michael S. Nussbaum, MD, FACS
2002 - Joseph P. Crowe, Jr., MD, FACS 2003 - Robert E. Falcone, MD, FACS 2004 - E. Christopher Ellison, MD, FACS
2005 - Michael E. Stark, MD, FACS 2006 - Gary B. Williams, MD, FACS 2007 - William C. Sternfeld, MD, FACS
2008 - Linda M. Barney, MD, FACS 2009 - Christopher McHenry, MD, FACS 2010 - Michael D. Sarap, MD, FACS
2011 - Joseph J. Sferra, MD, FACS 2012 - Alice A. Dachowski, MD, FACS  


Contact Us

Ohio Chapter, ACS
P.O. Box 1715
Columbus, OH 43216-1715
(877) 677-3227
Fax: (877) 835-5798